Kay Dee Speaks

Words Of Encouragement For Your Life

When GOD Gets You Out…Don’t Run Back In

There are soooo many times I’ve gotten myself into a tough spot, or a bad place, or a potentially dangerous situation because I wanted my own way.  Although not all of these were major incidents (thank goodness), this is an aspect of my life that I’ve consistently had to work at improving.  I do much better than I used to, but, more often than I’d like to admit, I still battle in this area.  I think it’s part of human nature to want your own way.  But, oftentimes we don’t count up the cost before plunging ahead.

You see, I believe in God and live my life according to that belief. There are times when I’ve prayed for things, expecting God to basically to “bless” the way I wanted to go, or to say “YES” to whatever my request was, without regard to what His answer might be.  God may have said ‘no’ or ‘wait’, but, I would willfully ignore this.  Many times stubbornness and impatience would win out.  Many times I chose to go full steam ahead with my own plan, knowing full well that I wasn’t going in the right direction.  I was running TOWARD what God had told my heart to stay AWAY from. As a result, I got myself into deep waters when I didn’t really know how to swim, and didn’t have a life vest or anything to keep me afloat.

In those moments, I inevitably came to the point where I had to acknowledge my own weakness, lack of judgment, and propensity for making mistakes.  Most of all, I had to humbly acknowledge my lack of ability to save myself. In those moments, as many of us do, I cried out to God, saying “God, help me! Please! I know I don’t deserve it, but if you please help me… I’ll do better.” And like the faithful Father He is, without hesitation, He came to save the day!  But, often the method of the rescue wasn’t what I’d bargained for. I wanted the rescue to be easy and painless and have no consequences, but, most times that wasn’t how it happened.  The rescue was not a pleasant process, and because it wasn’t pleasant, I had the nerve to be a bit miffed with God.  My prayer would go something like this…

“Thanks God.  I appreciate you helping me get out of that situation.  Not to sound ungrateful, but, this is still not exactly what I wanted. I mean, yes, I wanted your help but I didn’t think it would involve any discomfort or pain. Couldn’t you have just slightly tweaked things so that I could still have what I want?  If not, why not?  And maybe I shouldn’t feel this way, but, I still kind of miss [certain aspects of] that past situation. Forgive me…”

Have you had similar conversations with God? You wanted out of the mess you’d gotten yourself into. God got you out. But, it didn’t happen the way you thought it would. Then, you had the nerve to complain, and wanted to go back into the mess He’d just gotten you out of. Ahh, human frailty.  I’m so glad He loves us regardless.

One thing we have to remember is that all of our actions have consequences, whether good or bad. And God never promised that “the rescue” would be a comfortable process, but, He is faithful to help us. When God rescued the Israelites from their bondage in Egypt under Pharaoh, the journey to freedom was not easy, nor fun, and it was even a bit scary!  Still, God freed His people.  But, after they were freed, they longed for certain elements (in this case, food) of the place of their captivity.

Sadly, we do the same thing.  We look backward, seeing things with rose colored glasses.  We have “selective memory” when it comes to recalling the situation we were in.  We only want to remember the parts that seemed “good” or “pleasant”, and we choose not to remember the havoc and devastation that was being caused in our lives as a result of that situation.  Or we try to justify the bad parts. But if we’re honest with ourselves and choose to look the entire picture, we remember that we were in quite a conundrum.  And, at a certain point we had enough sense to know that we couldn’t rescue ourselves from what we’d gotten ourselves into, and we needed God to rescue us.

I’m not saying it’s easy.  Maybe you were in a situation that was severely toxic or dysfunctional, and the toxicity or dysfunction became your “new normal”.  Maybe you invested yourself emotionally, or invested in a partnership or invested financially, and you feel a great sense of loss even though you know it’s best that God rescued you from that situation.  God promises to be a present help in time of trouble and to comfort the brokenhearted.  Prayer and God’s word are certainly key ways to heal from the situation you were just rescued from.  But, you may also need mentoring or professional counsel. You may need to separate yourself from your former environment completely, or as much as possible.  You may need to seek a godly community of believers and/or a core group of mature friends who can help to be a support to you and perhaps keep you accountable as you heal.  God provides all of these types of resources to us. Just remember, it takes time to heal.  And sometimes you may slip a little or be tempted to go backwards.  But, God is there to help us get back up and get on track.  He will walk with you through all of the phases of healing and bring you to a place of peace.  Stay the course.  Stay encouraged. And remember… you are loved. Period.

 

©2017 Kay Dee Speaks, “When GOD Gets You Out…Don’t Run Back In”

photo credit here

Leave a Reply

