You ARE Good Enough!

you're good enough

A friend of mine recently posted a picture on her Facebook page of someone holding a sticky note that says “you are good enough!” It hit home. I don’t know about you, but, so many times I question, “am I good enough?”

Am I good enough to be loved?
Am I good enough to fit into that social circle?
Am I good enough to be accepted?
Am I good enough to be respected?
Am I good enough to complete that project or reach that goal?
Am I good enough to seal that huge deal at work?
Am I good enough to be valued by others?

The list could go on and on. What makes us question our own value? Have we been told by someone that we’re not valuable? Has it been demonstrated by another person’s actions toward us that we are not up to snuff? Have others made us feel that somehow we’ll never measure up to the perfection they expect? Or has it been communicated to us somehow that others don’t see us as able enough, talented enough, or intelligent enough to obtain a certain goal?

I daresay most of us have had such an experience in our lives. Sometimes we experience this type of criticism or rejection by well-meaning people in our families, friendships, social or professional circles. The trick is not believing the naysayers. Constructive criticism is one thing. It is usually given in such a way as to build up the person. It should be given with care and in a way that will help the person see where they can tweak or improve in a certain area without tearing them to shreds verbally.

But, if you’ve received harsh criticism or if you’ve been overlooked, berated, undervalued, etc., I’ve got news for you. You ARE good enough! The truth is that God made each of us uniquely special. We don’t all have the same set of talents and abilities, but, there is greatness in each of us!  There is something each of us are wired to do and to do well. Don’t undervalue your unique gifts.  Develop them and use them to bless others.

As you move forward to develop your gifts and talents, you may experience instances or periods of failure.  But, remember this –  failure at a task or a goal does NOT equal your failure as a person.  Your “who” is not determined by your “do”.  Some things you will have to continuously practice at to hone your skills in a certain area. Other things you will try and then realize that particular thing may not be for you. But the important thing is that you TRIED. You didn’t hold back. There will be no regrets because you attempted it. John Maxwell (author) has written a whole series of books, CD’s called “Fail Forward”. Even if you fail at something, if you learn from it, you’ve not failed at all. You’ve gained more valuable knowledge with which to move forward and tackle the next goal.

Your value  as a person, is not and should not be defined by people, but, by God. You are fearfully and wonderfully made. There is no one exactly like you. You are loved with a love that never wanes and never ends. And in those times where others put you down or you experience failure of some kind, you’ll need to remind yourself of this fact: YOU are SPECIAL.  If you have to, write it on sticky notes and stick it all around your house or apartment.  And surround yourself with positive people!  We each need people who are in our corner and believe in us!  It’s important.  Also, one of the best things you can do is let someone else know how special and important they are. I’m a huge advocate of paying it forward.  There are so many people in the world who have not been told how valuable and special they are.  And God may use YOU to be the one to tell them.  You can plant a seed of love into someone else’s life.  And you never know how big that seed will grow or what it will develop into.  Maybe because of you, someone who wanted to quit life, decides to continue on and becomes an amazing motivator of others.  Maybe that person who was going to quit med school goes on to become a world renowned physician or surgeon.  You never know.  So, as I hopefully breathe life into you, so, breathe life into others.  Remember how spectacular you are!  Silence the voices of the naysayers and shout out loud, “I AM GOOD ENOUGH!”

© KD Corner “You ARE Good Enough” 2013

photo credit here

54 thoughts on “You ARE Good Enough!

    1. Kenny T, perfectly fine! 🙂 And thank you for your continued encouragement! Sorry for the delayed reply. God bless!!! 🙂

  1. Hey man you have said everything I keep saying and have said it very well. I want to write an article around this article of yours. I put it on my face book. Did you reed my ROYAL PARDON if not look it up.

    1. I have much respect for those who counsel children. As a mom, I see what my kids are dealing with, as well as hear stories from them about their friends. It breaks my heart to know some children are badly bruised by what others say about them. I want them to know how special they are. Thank you for your comment! 🙂

    1. Chief, thank you for your feedback. I appreciate you taking the time to write. You’re right, this feeling does not discriminate. Feel free to repost if you haven’t already. 🙂 It’s my hope to reach whomever will come across this post, so they will begin to know how special they are and that they are definitely good enough.

  2. Reblogged this on Bright Blue Line and commented:
    I’ve seen this doubt in the victims we encounter, and officers who serve them. Be it high school hazing, work-place disenfranchisement or social out casting, making others feel “less than” is an unfortunate reality. You Are Good Enough. In Christ, all things are possible. Even your sense of self-worth. God bless you and have a super Saturday.

  3. This is a beautiful article of encouragement to those who are struggling with self-esteem. I love the part about the importance of building others up. Thank you and I have some people who I will recommend the reading of this information to. Have a wonderful weekend.

      1. No problem it was a really lovely post, the teachers in schools should teach more lessons on self-esteem and confidence as that would prepare children to better believe in themselves !
        Victoria 🙂 xx

    1. Dear Ginger, at first I thought to myself ‘who is Scott?’ but I suspect you read this reposted on Chief Scott’s blog. Yay! Glad it’s being shared and that you were encouraged by it! Have a blessed week!

  4. Thank you for posting this KD, this is such an important message to get out into ‘blogdom’. There are so many people in the world who have had negative words spoken into their lives that they can’t see their true worth. I think this is the reason why so many young people go off the rails and their life ends up one big train wreck. May God bless your writing KD as you pen many more words for Him.

    1. Lyn, thank you so very much for reading my post and for your kind words. I agree with you. There is so much negativity out there, it’s important for people to know how uniquely wonderful they are. I, too, still sometimes struggle with my worth, but, I always have to remind myself of the truth. 🙂 And I strive to remind others as well. 🙂

  5. Such a great message you have written! I think we all have to remind ourselves of this and what I love most is that we remind ourselves to tell others how “good” they are. Thank you for writing this.

  6. **OUTSTANDING message and very well written! I believe in this and I live IT..You’ve nailed this to a T. If its alright I’m going to re-post or re-blog(?) …still new at this lol! on my blog page. And I’ll be be checking in often ..Stay UPlifted and blessed!

  7. Hi.. first of all thanks for liking my post , i felt so grateful cause it helped me to feel good enough to take attention of such interesting persons like you.. By the way, great post and amazing blog! 🙂

  8. Recently, I got a lot of rejection even from what I knew I was good at. It got to me for a while but then I had to tell myself, “I am good enough”! God’s Word is the standard.

    Thanks for sharing this.

    1. Thank you for reading and for sharing part of your story. 🙂 Amen, God’s word is the standard. Keep on keeping on. God bless you. You are strong to persevere.

Leave a Reply

