Kay Dee Speaks

Words Of Encouragement For Your Life

Observations

Happy Belated Thanksgiving! I hope that you all had a nice holiday filled with thankfulness, blessings and family & friends. I hope you had the chance to reflect on what to be thankful for, not just on that day, but always. I spent the day with family and I’m thankful.

In my personal time, I’ve been reading through the bible at my own pace. Right now I’m reading through Exodus. It’s funny how when you take your time to re-read something that you haven’t read in a while, how different tidbits pop out at you that hadn’t previously stood out. I like it.

Right now, I’m at the part where Moses just led the people of Israel across the Red Sea (referenced in a previous blog post) and how quick they were to complain about every little thing afterward. At one point they said, “Did God save us from the Egyptians only to bring us out here in the desert to starve? What are we supposed to eat, huh?? It’d be better if we were back in Egypt eating the delicious food of the Egyptians” (Ex.16:2-3, paraphrase mine). Wow, really?  Because it seems to me you (Israelites) were just groaning and complaining from YEARS of slavery and ill-treatment at the hands of the Egyptians. Just sayin’. As for the food, of course, God provided food and everything else they needed for that matter. What amazes me is that previous to their complaints, just after they’d come across the ocean on dry land and saw their enemies drowned, it says they “feared (reverenced) the Lord and put their trust in Him and in Moses his servant” (Ex.14:31).  How quickly they turned from trusting to complaining. But, that just puts me in check. How soon after any blessings I receive do I go back to complaining or doubting or worrying, etc.? Food for thought.

Another thing that stood out to me was when Moses’ father-in-law came to visit him (Exodus 18). His name was Jethro, and Jethro was so pleased to hear about all of the miraculous things God was doing. But, when he saw that all day long, every day, Moses was consumed with judging disputes between the people (and remember this was a humongous group of people), he gave his son-in-law some timely advice. He told him at the rate he was going, he’d burn himself out. Judging disputes between members of such an overwhelmingly large group of people was too much for just one person to handle.  He advised Moses to put a different system in place, which included dividing the people into smaller groups and appointing trustworthy, wise, honest men of integrity to be in charge of their assigned group. This way, these men could judge the smaller disputes for their alloted group of people and only larger or more difficult disputes would be brought before Moses. In other words, he told him to DELEGATE. Well, that speaks to me on a couple of levels. Are there times when I try to be “superwoman”, hence burning myself out instead of just asking for reliable help, or delegating duties to others? Hmm. 🙂  Also, it reminds me of how God is faithful to bring the right people along at the right times to help us or advise us on certain matters. His timing IS impeccable. And as I look back at certain situations in my life, I can definitely see how ‘this’ or ‘that’ person came along at exactly the right time to give me needed encouragement or advice. I know that was the Lord’s doing and I’m thankful. I hope He continues to do that for me.

Ok, have a great weekend!

Toodles ♥

© “Observations” KD Corner 2012

Image courtesy of stockimages / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

2 comments on “Observations

  1. M
    November 23, 2012

    I love your points. It is amazing the small tidbits we can take away from the bible. Exodus to me reinforced God’s love, because a few chapters in, I would have ditched the complainers lol. Thanks for sharing!

    • kdcorner
      November 24, 2012

      Thanks for reading 🙂 Your comment made me smile.

Leave a Reply

