Play Dress Up

Hey guys & gals! How’s it going? I hope all is well. Today, let’s talk about dressing up. Why? Well, I’ve read on more than one website that dressing up is one way to pamper yourself. I submit to you that dressing up gives the ol’ ego a boost. You can go all out and dress to the nines or you can just pick something a bit more modest but flattering. But whatever you choose, choose something that makes YOU feel and look good. Some of you may be wondering why I chose to write on this topic. Well, it’s because I believe that sometimes we need to be our own encourager, our own best friend and do something for ourselves that will remind us how special we are. Sometimes it’s nice to indulge just a little.

We, typically, are creatures of habit. We like routine (nothing wrong with that). But sometimes we allow ourselves to get stuck in a rut and we neglect ourselves. We tend to do the same thing day in and day out. It’s good break from the norm and remind ourselves how unique and special we are. And if you’re feeling down, dressing up can really make you feel better. I’ll never forget, when I was a teenager, I was kind of down in the dumps one particular day and that day I happened to talk to my dad. He gave me some advice. He said, “You know, when I feel down, I do something nice for myself. I dress up in my favorite outfit…and it just makes me feel good. Do it for YOU!” So, I tried it. I did my hair in a style I liked, and I wore a favorite dress to school that day, and the compliments I received were really nice (mostly…you know some teen boys are goofs no matter what…lol). Anyway, I remember walking home that day loving the way I looked in my dress and feeling like a million bucks.

So go for it! It can’t hurt. It may seem silly to you, but, don’t knock it till you try it. No, clothing doesn’t make you who you are. But sometimes it’s just a nice treat to ourselves by spending a little time sprucing up. So guys, put on that outfit that makes you look AMAZING and don’t forget a dab of that cologne that smells so great. Spruce up your hair and beard or mustache and go out that day looking & feeling phenomenal. Ladies, maybe wear your hair in your favorite style, paint your nails (if you like) and put on that ensemble that makes you look like a SUPER STAR (because you are) and don’t forget those cute shoes! Then, strut your stuff. Do it first and foremost for yourself. This is just another way to show love to yourself. You’re worth it!  Have a great day!  Let me know how it goes. 😉

Toodles ♥

Image from Google / fashionchoice

© KD Corner 2012

2 thoughts on “Play Dress Up

Leave a Reply

