The Power of Song – part 1 of 3

This is the first of a 3 parter where I’m going to share 3 of my favorite songs. Why?  Because their melodies & lyrics are examples of the power songs have to give us hope, courage, faith…to lift us up when we’re down or put a spring in our step.  You know how it feels when you hear your favorite song on the radio!  It feels amazing!  You crank it up, you sing along, maybe a little air guitar or air drums are being played.  There is music to fit all of our moods.  We listen to happy music when we’re happy, or listen to a mournful tune while sad, or a party song when we’re getting ready to go out on the town.  Music is so powerful. I love all kinds of music from classical, classic rock, R & B, reggae, latin, alternative, jazz, old school rap, pop…and something I thought I’d never, ever in a million years like…yep, country. I cannot tell you how I used to loathe country music as a child. But, as an adult, I have gained an appreciation for it. Much of it is heartfelt, and wholesome. They’re not afraid to mention God and faith in their songs. And many of the songs are about life, and they many times tell a story.  My selection today is from a more modern country group, Rascal Flatts.  Before you skeptics roll your eyes (Lol) , just give it a chance. 🙂  This song is about how people give of themselves to help, save, bless, encourage others. I personally sing this song to God, because I feel like everyday God saves my life – helps me through the tough times, keeps me encouraged.  And there are plenty of people who come to mind as I listen that have been a blessing to me.  I only hope I am a blessing to others as well.

Here’s the link to the video:  Every Day
And here are the lyrics.
Feel free to follow along:

You could’ve bowed out gracefully, but you didn’t
You knew enough to know to leave well enough alone, but you wouldn’t
I drive myself crazy trying to stay out of my own way
the messes that I’ve made, but my secrets are so safe
The only one who gets me, yeah you get me
It’s amazing to me

How every day, every day, every day
you save my life

I come around all broken down and crowded out, in your comfort
Sometimes the place I go is so deep & dark & desperate
I don’t know, I don’t know

How every day, every day, every day
you save my life.

Sometimes I swear I don’t know if I’m comin’ or goin’
 But you always say something without even knowin’
That I’m hanging onto your words with all of my might
And it’s alright
Yeah, I’m alright
For one more night
Every day

Every day, every day, every day
Every day, every day, every day
You save me, you save me ..ohhh
La, la, la… (every day, every-every-every day)
Every day, you save my life.

*Be blessed. 🙂

Image: FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Leave a Reply

