Kay Dee Speaks

Words Of Encouragement For Your Life

At Least…

Ugh! (Moan, whine, sigh)   It’s that time again.  You got paid, now it’s time to pay bills…and buy groceries and gasoline AND try to eke out a little bit of money for something fun.  It can definitely be depressing….unless you’re someone who is financially well off.  And if you are, congrats! But for the rest of us, there is little left after paying bills and taking care of the family’s needs.  I usually get a little grumpy and discouraged around this time and try to think of creative (legal and wholesome) ways to make more money.  I complain to God and then…

I start the “at least” list.  What is the “at least” list?  Well, it’s the moment when I realize that I’m not nearly as bad off as many whose struggles are far greater than mine.  It goes a little something like this:

  • At least I can pay my bills on time each month.
  • At least I have a full-time job, because so many do not.
  • At least I have nice clothes to wear that have stayed in good condition over the last few years.
  • At least I can buy groceries to feed my family and myself, even if it’s not all of our favorite food.
  • At least I can fill my car with gasoline as needed.
  • At least I have a car, many don’t.
  • At least I have a decent place to live and I can pay the rent.
  • At least I am blessed to have a place to live and I’m not homeless, thank God.
  • At least I have a little bit of change left over to do something thrifty but fun.

It goes on and on.  If you think about it, most times you have more to be thankful for than you realize.  And what started out as my grump session to God, usually turns into “Thanks God. I may not have everything I want, but I have everything I need.”

Make your own “at least” list.  God bless. 🙂

Image: FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 3, 2012 by in Money, Seasons, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
